Blog Posts > Minimum Wage Law May Hike Pay for Other Workers
March 26, 2014

Minimum Wage Law May Hike Pay for Other Workers

Beckley Register Herald – Employers ready to budget for next year’s minimum wage increase may want to look at another, perhaps unintended, consequence of the law that will raise wages for approximately 100,000 state residents. Read

Because of a change in the State Code’s definitions, workers formerly exempt from overtime laws may now be eligible to earn time-and-a-half — including those with salaries of more than $100,000 a year.

House Bill 4283, which raised the minimum wage from $7.25 to $8 an hour as of Jan. 1, 2015, changed the definition of employer, striking language in State Code that said “if 80 percent of persons employed … are subject to any federal act relating to minimum wage, maximum hours and overtime compensation.”

Donate Today!
Icon with two hands to donate today.
Donate

Help Us Make West Virginia a Better Place to Live

Subscribe Today!
Icon to subscribe.
Subscribe

Follow Our Newsletter to Stay Up to Date on Our Progress

Thanks for reading our post 🙂

We have a great newsletter, join below:

Select list(s) to subscribe to


By submitting this form, you are consenting to receive marketing emails from: West Virginia Center on Budget and Policy, 8 Capitol Street, Charleston, WV, 25301. You can revoke your consent to receive emails at any time by using the SafeUnsubscribe® link, found at the bottom of every email. Emails are serviced by Constant Contact