Huntington Herald-Dispatch – A new year means a new, higher minimum wage for workers in West Virginia. Read
Gov. Earl Ray Tomblin in 2014 signed into law House Bill 4283, which increased the state’s minimum wage in two steps – from $7.25 to $8 per hour on Jan. 1, 2015, and again to $8.75 per hour effective Jan. 1, 2016.
“Gov. Tomblin believes increasing the minimum wage in the Mountain State is a step toward helping thousands of hardworking West Virginians earn a fair wage,” said Chris Stadelman, Tomblin’s director of communications. “This includes mothers, fathers, working adults and teens working their first jobs.”
The legislation also provides an increase in employer credits that may be taken for employers of tipped employees and for board and lodging. Changes were also made regarding who is covered under the law. The training wage increased from $5.15 per hour to $6.40 per hour for employees under the age of 20 hired after Jan. 1, 2015, applicable for the first 90 days of employment.
The 75-cent increase takes the annual pay of a minimum-wage employee working 40 hours a week from $16,640 to $18,200.
We have a great newsletter, join below: